Beautiful Fragments

Image by Jessica Lindsay Smith

Image by Jessica Lindsay Smith


In 2014, pianists/composers Nat Bartsch and Luke Howard created the hugely popular Festival of Beautiful Sound: a series of two concerts bringing together like-minded artists from jazz, classical, indie and electronic genres to create beautiful, gentle music together.

Inspired by the Festival of Beautiful Sound, drummer/composer Maddison Carter and composer Jessica Lindsay Smith launch their 'Beautiful Fragments' concert series with mentorship from Bartsch.

For two nights in October at the Jazzlab, Beautiful Fragments presents the music of renowned pianists Luke Howard and Nat Bartsch alongside diverse acts from different genres and including a special, never-to-be-repeated collaboration between the artists at the end.

For the 9th of October:

The concert features Luke Howard performing his originals alongside contemporary chamber group Solstice Trio, who will perform works by composers including Andrea Keller and Nat Bartsch.

LUKE HOWARD- piano and electronics


Natasha Conrau- violin

Stephanie Arnold- cello

Georgina Lewis- piano

For the 23rd October:

This performance features a special one-night-only reformation of the Nat Bartsch Trio, in a unique format that combines personnel from both her former trios. The trio will be joined by indie folk act Canary, in an intimate duo format.


Nat Bartsch- piano

Tom Lee- double bass

Leigh Fisher- drums


Matt Kenneally- vocals and guitar

Ed Fairlie- trumpet and keys

Image by Jessica Lindsay Smith

Image by Jessica Lindsay Smith