Freudian Sleep Image.jpg

Composed of Joseph O'Connor (piano), Theo Carbo (guitar), James Macaulay (trombone) and Maddison Carter (drums), Freudian Sleep present original music with a focus on synthetic and unconventional structures for improvisation.
Formed as a conduit to experiment with unique systems of composition, it is nevertheless inevitable that the personal and romantic sides of each musician will 'slip' into performances. Their debut appearances at the Jazzlab also featured compositions by American saxophonist Tim Berne, a leading voice in New York’s dynamic ‘downtown’ scene.